UCPH Forward

UCPH Forward offers a one year development programme for UCPH researchers (at the level of advanced postdocs to early career professors at all levels) who demonstrate scholarly excellence, creativity and talent, but also the motivation and courage to build bridges across the university’s diverse faculties and departments.

Candidates will be accepted by competitive application. Although holders of Marie Skłodowska-Curie fellowships, ERC starting or consolidator grants or similar competitive awards as well as early career Tenure Track employees are encouraged to apply, these are not mandatory requirements for being accepted.

A unique network and individual mentoring

The participants find themselves in a network of dedicated UCPH researchers who represent the diversity of the University. Together each cohort forms a unique bond, thanks to involvement in a series of events that incorporate not only teaching by highly experienced leaders in their fields, but also considerable active participation both in the general sessions but also through 1:1 and group coaching. The content of each event is designed to not only broaden each participant’s’ specific knowledge about the topic in question, but also build an appreciation that there are no single solutions, and the need to recognise the diversity inherent in people.

Content and gains

Themes that are explored in the training include:

  • Research management and academic leadership
  • Improving personal performance, authority, and credibility
  • Understanding the structure and management at the University of Copenhagen
  • Navigating the Danish and International Funding landscape
  • Balancing work with life, and building a sustainable academic career
  • Cross-disciplinary collaboration within or outside of UCPH

Overall the content that the participants share ideas and ambitions on span a variety of relevant topics spanning the Danish and international academic, industrial, social, commercial, and political sectors.

At the end of the programme, participants will have produced an individual research plan including a strategy for funding applications, publications and outreach activities. They will also draft a development plan for their academic field. They will have also created a strong, valuable and diverse peer network with other talents both across UCPH, and with highly experienced research leaders.

Leadership and anchorage

The establishment of UCPH Forward was decided by Rector Henrik Wegener and the deans of research in 2017. The programme was designed and originally created by professor Marie Louise Nosch from the Saxo-Institute, professor Jens Hjorth from the Niels Bohr Institute and organisational psychologist Ulla Viskum from Shared HR. In 2023 the management team was expanded to include professors Marianne Nissen Lund of the Department of Food Science and Tom Gilbert of the Globe Institute.

Application to the 2025 round of UCPH Forward

The call for applicants for the next round of UCPH Forward will be open from 1st June until 17th September 2024. For further details on the programme, eligibility, and the application process itself, please visit the programme page on the UCPH Intranet here.